About the Army

The Canadian Army is the land component of the Canadian Armed Forces.

The Army protects Canadians and our interests by:

  • defending Canadian territory
  • maintaining Canada's sovereignty by providing land surveillance and combat-ready forces
  • contributing to the collective defence of North America
  • providing armed and unarmed assistance to civil authorities when needed to maintain public order and security
  • assisting provincial and other authorities with natural disasters including earthquakes, floods, storms, forest fires and other emergencies
  • supporting Canadian interests abroad, by providing forces to the UNNATO, and other operations involving more than two nations
  • serving as peacekeepers
  • providing humanitarian assistance


The Canadian Army - as part of the Canadian Armed Forces - will be a soldier-centric, professional and integrated force achieving operational excellence at home and abroad. While working alongside Whole of Government colleagues, key allies and partners, the Canadian Army will be a scalable, agile, and responsive force that operates among populations to deliver decisive land power in the achievement of Canadian defence objectives.


The Canadian Army will generate combat effective, multi-purpose land forces to meet Canada’s defence objectives.

Related Links:

Army Organization

The Canadian Army is the largest element of the Canadian Armed Forces:

  • 23,000 members serve as full-time soldiers in the Regular Force
  • 17,000 are part-time, volunteer soldiers in the Reserve Force
    • including 5,000 Rangers who serve in sparsely settled northern, coastal and isolated areas of Canada
  • 3,000 civilian employees who support the Army 
  • 63 Regular Force and 123 Reserve Force Units in 127 Communities
  • 179 Ranger Patrols in 414 Communities

Regular Force

The Regular Force has three Mechanized Brigade Groups composed of units stationed in Western Canada, Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic Canada.

Each brigade is made up of

  • three infantry battalions (two mechanized, one light),
  • an armoured regiment
  • an artillery regiment
  • a combat engineer regiment
  • a reconnaissance squadron
  • appropriate combat support, communications, medical and service support units

As well, there is an engineer support regiment, air defence regiment, and electronic warfare squadron.

Reserve Force

The Army Reserve Force is organized into ten Brigade Groups spread across the country.

In total there are:

  • 51 infantry battalions
  • 19 logistic units
  • 18 armoured units
  • 17 artillery units
  • 12 engineer units
  • 10 signals regiments
  • four military police units
  • four intelligence units
Date modified: